In order to keep intact the beauty and nature of this part of Romagna on the border with Parco delle Foreste Casentinesi and Tuscany, 11 years ago we decided to cultivate our land in an organic way, so that at Corte San Ruffillo, everyone could enjoy the surrounding nature, eat good food and take time for themselves.
This is how in the eighteenth-century complex of Dovadola Corte San Ruffillo was built with its 14 wonderful rooms, its restaurant, which uses meat from its farms and organic products from the fields to prepare menus and breakfasts for our guests... and finally the farm with its laboratory, which transforms the raw material grown in the 400 hectares of land into incredibly good organic food: compotes and chutneys, honey, oil, flour and pasta, traditional cold meat and wine... being mineral and intense, just like our land.
Without the people who work with us and take care of you, of every dish and product, of the land, of plants and animals, we would never have gotten here and we could not even continue our journey.
Your well-being is linked to a great teamwork, with everyone being aware of the importance of his/her contribution, to make Corte San Ruffillo a unique experience.
Our team is made up of men and women with very different backgrounds, ages and origins, though sharing passion for hospitality and good living.
Corte San Ruffillo is a very important place for the history of our family. Therefore, in 2008, together with the Superintendence of Archaeology, Fine Arts and Landscape, we restored the entire complex so that all the consolidation interventions could be distinguished from its original structure, which was left totally intact.
The complex of Corte San Ruffillo has very ancient origins indeed. In the Ratio Decimarum of 1290 (the register of the tithes that were collected by the Papal state) this place was called "Plebis S. Rophilli", it was inserted into the Diocese of Forlimpopoli and it seemingly arose on the site of the ancient castle of Counts Guidi. As a matter of fact, sources say that the church foundation dates from around the eleventh century, even if popular tradition says the Casa Canonica (the parsonage), the church, the cellars and the related services date back to the second half of 300 BC, the period of St. Ruffillo Martyr’s preaching, Bishop of Forlimpopoli. Over the centuries, the complex has been enriched until it took on its present appearance with the construction of Villa Filetto in 1810.